Celebration of Devon's school crossing patrols

school crossing patrols award ceremony

Posted on: 25 July 2012

Devon County Council is paying tribute to its army of school crossing patrols, otherwise known as lollipop men and women.

A presentation of Long Service Awards to 34 patrols and one Supervisor  was made at the Coaver Club, County Hall on Wednesday 25 July 2012.

The patrols have 383 years experience between them and will receive their awards from Devon County Council Chairman Councillor Jerry Brook.

Councillor Jerry Brook will present Bronze, Silver, Gold, Diamond, Platinum, Sapphire and Emerald certificates and badges to recognise the commitment to service from five to thirty-five years.

The Sapphire Award goes to those who have served for 30 years, the Platinum Award is for 25 years service, Gold is for 15 years, Silver for 10 years and Bronze for five years. There is also a Retirement Award for those leaving the service

Cabinet member for Highways & Transportation, Stuart Hughes says; “These men and women play a really important role in our communities and have helped thousands of children across the roads over the years. I want to send them my thanks and appreciation for all their hard work and to encourage anyone thinking about becoming a patroller to get in touch with us. All the equipment and training is provided and the work can be both rewarding and enjoyable

East Devon 

Mrs Carolyn Bury
Stoke Canon C of E Primary
35 years, Emerald Award & Retirement award

Mrs S M Wiblin
Honiton Primary / Littletown Primary
21+ years, Diamond Award & Retirement award

Mrs Leonie Burt
Ottery St Mary Primary, Ottery St Mary, Bronze award

Mrs Sylvia Macey
Brixington Community Nursery & Primary, Exmouth, Bronze award
Mr Gary Williams
St Peter’s C of E Primary, Budleigh Salterton, Bronze award

Mr Brian Craig
Seaton Primary, Seaton, Silver award

Mr Roy Oliver
The Beacon C of E (VA) Primary, Exmouth, Silver award

Mrs Deborah Townsend
Bassetts Farm Primary, Exmouth, Silver award


Mrs Rosemary Steele
Kingskerswell C of E Primary, Kingskerswell, Platinum award

Mrs Sue West
Hazeldown School, Teignmouth, Sapphire Award

Mrs Elizabeth Allen
Chudleigh C of E Community Primary, Bronze Award & Retirement award

Mr Kenneth Gaywood
All Saints C of E Primary (Marsh), Newton Abbot
5 years, Bronze Award & Retirement award

Mrs Margaret Sinclair
Bovey Tracey Primary, Bovey Tracey, Bronze award

Mrs Jacqueline Toseland
Blackpool C of E Primary, Liverton, Bronze award
Mrs Carol Troy
Exminster Community Primary, Exminster, Bronze award

Mrs Winifred Hall
Canada Hill Community Primary, Newton Abbot, Silver award

Mrs Patricia Rich
Tedburn St Mary School, Tedbury, St Mary Gold award


Mr Robert Bickford
Stoke Hill Infant / Nursery / Stoke Hill Junior, Exeter
5+ years, Bronze award & Retirement award

Mrs June Henderson
Montgomery Primary / St Thomas Primary, Exeter
30+ years, Sapphire Award & Retirement award

Mrs Jennifer Bain
Redhills Community Primary School, Exeter, Bronze award

Mr James Barr
Wynstream Primary School, Exeter, Bronze award

Mr Barrie Martyn
Montgomery Primary, Exeter, Bronze award

Mr Andrew Sarahs
St Leonard’s Primary, Exeter, Bronze award

Mrs Sandra Pennington
Pinhoe C of E Primary, Exeter Silver award

Mr Richard Perry
Ladysmith Infants / Ladysmith Juniors, Exeter, Silver award

Mr Frederick Turner
St Margaret’s / Exeter School, Exeter, Silver award

South Hams 

Mrs Eileen Day
Dartmouth Academy & St John The Baptist Catholic Primary, 8+ years Retirement award

Mrs Katrina Tobin
Salcombe C of E Primary, Salcombe, Bronze award

Mr William Crispin M B E
West Alvington C of E Primary, West Alvington, Silver award

North Devon 

Mr Michael Skinner
Yeo Valley Primary, Barnstaple, Bronze award

Mr Brian Batt
Supervisor – Area North, Silver award

Mrs Carol Pincombe
South Molton United C of E Junior, South Molton, Silver award


Mrs Shirley Crane
Holsworthy C of E Primary, Holsworthy, Silver award

Mid Devon 

Mrs Valerie Bowden
Heathcoat Primary, Tiverton, Platinum award

Mrs Pauline Horne
The Castle Primary, Tiverton, Silver award

Mrs Margaret Bullen
The Castle Primary, Tiverton, Gold award

Notes to Editors

Media representatives are welcome to attend the ceremony; an official photo call is arranged for 12:30 pm.

For more information about school crossing patrols, go to http://www.devon.gov.uk/school_crossing_patrols.htm

Be the first to Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Comments are held for moderation. House rules

Posted in: Community