Devon’s electoral boundaries are changing…

Devon’s present division boundaries

Posted on: 30 January 2017

On Thursday 4 May 2017 Devon’s residents will vote in the first Devon County Council elections using the new electoral boundaries agreed by the Boundary Commission.

The public will vote for fewer councillors; 60 Devon County Councillors will represent the county, two fewer than the current arrangements.

Those 60 councillors will represent 56 single-member electoral divisions and two, two-member electoral divisions across the county.

There will be one less division in each of the South Hams’ and Teignbridge District Council areas, with the total number of electoral divisions in Devon reduced to 58.

A division in Exmouth and another in the Broadclyst area will each be represented by two elected members, and the remaining 56 divisions being represented by one member.

The Boundary Commission says that the changes will improve electoral equality by equalising the number of electors each councillor represents.

They predict that by 2020 all the divisions will have an average of 10,417 eligible voters, with a variance of 10 per cent either way.

East Devon – Councillors; 11,  (no change)

Exeter –  Councillors, 9,  (no change)

Mid Devon – Councillors, 6,  (no change)

North Devon – Councillors, 8,  (no change)

South Hams –  Councillors, currently 8, will reduce to 7

Teignbridge –  Councillors, currently 11, will reduce to 10

Torridge – Councillors, 5, (no change)

West Devon – Councillors, 4, (no change)

Posted in: Politics