Call for community transport nominations

Community transport passengersCommunity transport passengers

Posted on: 22 March 2016

Devon County Council is calling for nominations for this year’s Community Transport Awards to honour those who have gone the extra mile for their passengers.

The award ceremony, now in its 17th year and this year sponsored by the GM Coachwork Group, aims to recognise the outstanding service and dedication made by people involved in Community Transport across Devon.

Nomination forms are now available from the County Council and must be submitted by the closing date of Friday 22 April.

Anyone working or volunteering in the community transport sector can be nominated by passengers, staff or volunteers, and there are a number of categories.

Community transport groups can be nominated in the category for Best Contribution to the Local Community, which is kindly sponsored by Pollards Printers.

There are awards for volunteer drivers involved in the voluntary car scheme and, in the community minibus scheme, there are awards for volunteer minibus drivers and volunteer enablers (fundraisers, committee members and administrators etc).

A panel of judges will present an additional award to one of the individual volunteer award winners that they consider has made an outstanding contribution to Community Transport in Devon over the past year.

Councillor Stuart Hughes

Cllr Stuart Hughes

Councillor Stuart Hughes, Devon County Council Cabinet Member with responsibility for community transport, said: “Community transport services rely on hundreds of volunteers and staff across the county and each of them plays an important role in keeping services running. The awards are a perfect way to say thank you to them and honour their dedication, excellence and commitment which help deliver these essential services to people in Devon.”

Successful nominees and their proposer will be invited to a civic reception in Exeter on Thursday 26 May.

Nomination forms are available online here or by emailing or calling Devon County Council’s Community Transport Team on 01392 382123.

Completed forms should be emailed to:, or print and send them to: Community Transport, Devon County Council, M18 Matford Offices, County Hall, Exeter EX2 4QD.

Posted in: Community | DCC Homepage