VideoCommunity Transport Award winners honoured at ceremony

Community Transport Award Winners 2016Community Transport Award Winners 2016

Posted on: 27 May 2016

A record number of nominations were received for this year’s Devon Community Transport Awards and the winners were announced at a special ceremony.

More than 80 nominations were received for this year’s awards, which are now in their 17th year and aim to recognise outstanding contributions to community transport in Devon.

The Devon Community Transport Awards, sponsored by the GM Coachwork Group, who specialise in wheelchair access vehicles and vehicle adaptations, honoured 10 proud recipients at the celebration event at County Hall.

Gillian Hipkins

Gillian Hipkins

Gillian Hipkins was named the Community Transport Volunteer of the Year. Gillian, from the Friends of Underhill Surgery Car Scheme in Lympstone, was recognised for her administrative role. She was described as a “compassionate and dedicated administrator” who goes “above and beyond to provide excellent service”, often volunteering to drive patients when other volunteers are unavailable.

Gillian said: “I feel very honoured and privileged. I never expected it. I just love being active. It’s a scheme you need to be dedicated to, and I love it.”

Gillian was one of three people to receive awards for Volunteer Enablers along with Richard Green, of Ivybridge & District Community Transport Association, and Ruth Thrush, of Newton & Noss Volunteer Transport.

The awards to Volunteer Car Drivers went to Sean Creak, of Totnes Caring, Mike Northmoor, of Tavistock Area Support Services, and Colin Shirley, of Volunteering in Health.

The three winners to receive the Volunteer Minibus Driver Awards were Peter Bramble, of Go North Devon Ltd, Trevor Fogwill, of Sidmouth Voluntary Services, and Charles Williams, of Tiverton & District Community Transport Association.

Ilfracombe & District Community Transport Association, received the group award for Best Contribution to the Local Community, which was sponsored by Pollards Printers. Ilfracombe CTA will use the £500 prize to purchase a ticketing machine needed for taking over the four Ilfracombe town bus routes.

Councillor Stuart Hughes

Cllr Stuart Hughes

Councillor Stuart Hughes, Devon County Council Cabinet Member for Highway Management, said: “Congratulations to all of our winners but also to everyone involved with Community Transport in Devon. They all deserve recognition for the commitment and dedication they show in their local communities. The Devon Community Transport Awards have become a well established annual event now after 17 years and it’s marvellous to see, even after so many years, that the awards have attracted a record number of nominations. It demonstrates how highly valued community transport is here in Devon and the vital role it plays.”

Cllr Andrew Moulding

Cllr Andrew Moulding

Devon County Council Chairman Councillor Andrew Moulding presented the awards. He said: “These awards are recognition of the dedication of all the volunteers involved in Community Transport and the exceptional service given to help others.”

All nominations were considered by a judging panel consisting of Devon County Council Leader John Hart, Elaine Cook, Chief Executive of Devon Communities Together and Alison Holder, Senior Manager of the Patient Advice and Liaison Service.

1 comment on “Community Transport Award winners honoured at ceremony

  1. Tim Lamerton says:

    Excellent event, well done to all the winners and thank you to DCC for its continued and vital support to community transport organisations.

Posted in: Community | DCC Homepage | Environment