Exeter residents parking zone extension consultation starts

Posted on: 27 March 2017

A consultation to determine if residents’ parking zones,  introduced in Exeter last month, should be extended starts today, Friday 24 March 2017. 

This consultation is in response to requests from local residents living in areas near and adjacent to the new residential parking zones.

It will assess the need for further parking restrictions to address the displacement of vehicles parked by non residents into these areas.

From this weekend residents in the affected roads will be receiving a postcard giving details of the consultation and how to respond.

These proposals are similar to those advertised in 2016 and have been drafted following discussions with local county councillors.

The proposals are:

  • Extending the Regents Park Area Zone (Zone S2) to include the following roads and streets:

Anthony Road, East Terrace, First Avenue, Hamlin Lane, Hanover Close, Hanover Road, Ladysmith Lane, Ladysmith Road, Lower Avenue, Newcombe Street, Newcombe Street Gardens, Newcombe Terrace, Nethercott Place, Normandy Road, Pretoria Road, Regent Square, Roseland Crescent, Roseland Drive, Saxon Road, Second Avenue, South Lawn Terrace, Stuart Road, Third Avenue, West Terrace and part of Roseland Avenue.

  • Allowing residents in Pinhoe Road (between Thurlow Road an Abbey Road) to apply for permits to enable them to park within the S2 scheme.
  • Extending Bovemoors Lane Area (Zone N) to include the following roads and streets:

Attwyll Avenue, Avondale Road, Brookleigh Avenue, Cranbrook Road, Glenmore Road, Mayfield Road, St Loyes Road, Victor Close, Victor Lane, Victor Street, Woodstock Road and part of East Wonford Hill. It is also proposed that residents in a few additional properties on Fore Street will be allowed to apply for permits to allow them to park within the N scheme.

  • Extending the Rifford Road Area Zone (Zone S7) to include a further section of Woodwater Lane and to allow residents of Lisa Close to apply for permits to park within the S7 zone.
  • The creation of a new zone for the Burnthouse Lane Area (Zone S8) which could include the following roads and streets:

Briar Crescent, Brooke Avenue, Browning Close, Burns Avenue, Chaucer Avenue, Chestnut Avenue, Cowper Avenue, Dickens Drive, Hamilton Avenue, Hawthorn Road, Hazel Road, Laburnum Road, Laurel Road, Lilac Road, Magnolia Avenue, Milton Road, Ronchetti Way, Scott Avenue, Shakespeare Road, Silver Birch Close, Spenser Avenue, Tennyson Avenue, Walnut Road and parts of Burnthouse Lane and Topsham Road.

Plans of the proposals can be viewed here.

Comments can also be submitted online or posted to Traffic Management Team, Devon County Council, County Hall, Topsham Road, Exeter, EX2 4QD. Responses need to arrive by Sunday 23 April 2017.

All correspondence will be recorded and a summary of the comments submitted will be reported to the Exeter Highways and Traffic Orders Committee at its meeting on Tuesday 4 July 2017.

At this meeting the councillors will make a decision on what will be progressed. This could be a decision to implement all, part or none of the proposed restrictions.

1 comment on “Exeter residents parking zone extension consultation starts

  1. Laura and Mal Roberts says:

    I am totally opposed to this extension. We have never had parking issues in this area (Anthony road) until you started to put in the restrictions in the area. I already pay car tax for the roads and now you want to tax us again to park on outside our house! Please DONOT bring in further restrictions.

Posted in: