Killacleave recycling centre reopening delayed

Recycling Centre

Posted on: 29 March 2018

The full reopening of Killacleave Recycling Centre in Ilfracombe has been delayed by approximately a week because of the heavy snow earlier this month.

Now the site is scheduled to fully reopen on Saturday 14 April.

Currently improvement work is being carried out. This includes resurfacing of the container areas, tarmac surfacing and drainage works.

The layout is also being changed so there will be more space for vehicles to manoeuvre.

However, because of the work until the site fully reopens there will be a limited service with only cardboard, garden waste, metal, non-recyclable waste and wood being accepted..

During that period, it will not be able to accept batteries, cooking oil, crockery, electrical equipment, fluorescent tubes, gas bottles, glass, household chemicals, newspapers, plasterboard, plastics, soil and rubble, tetra packs, textiles, or tyres.

Opening times over Easter and up until Saturday April 14 (limited service)
• Good Friday 30 March – Closed
• Saturday 31 March – Open
• Sunday 1 April – Open
• Bank Holiday Monday 2 April – Open
• Tuesday 3 April – Friday 6 April – Closed
• Saturday 7 April – Friday 13 April – Open
• Saturday 14 April – Fully Open, with full service resumed

Councillor Andrea Davis, Cabinet Member for Infrastructure,

Councillor Andrea Davis

Development and Waste said: “North Devon was hit hard by the snow and this has unavoidably delayed the full reopening of the site by a week and we apologise for the inconvenience.

“Once completed users will notice the difference – it will be easier to use.”

Posted in: Environment