New Chairman and Vice Chairman announced for Devon County Council

Devon County Council Chairman Ray Radford

Posted on: 25 May 2017

A new Chairman and Vice Chairman has been announced by Devon County Council.

Outgoing Chairman, Andrew Moulding, handed the prestigious title to Willand and Uffculme’s County Councillor, Ray Radford.

And Cllr Richard Edgell, who represents the Chumleigh and Landkey division, replaces Rose Rowe as Vice Chairman.

Councillor Radford was elected to the County Council in 2001, and to Mid Devon District Council in 1994.   He began his Council work as a member of Halberton Parish Council and was Chairman there for many years.   He said:

“It’s an honour to be asked, and I’m delighted to accept the responsibility.  I will do my very best to represent Devon County Council and to uphold its excellent reputation during my year in office.

“I’m very much looking forward too, to share the responsibilities with my Vice Chairman and colleague Richard Edgell.”

Councillor Edgell has been a Devon County Councillor since 2009.  He has also been a North Devon District Councillor since 2003 and a member of the Exmoor National Park Authority for the last ten years.

He said:

“I am delighted to have been elected Vice Chairman and will do my best to support our new Chairman during our year of office, and to enhance the standing of the County Council.”

3 comments on “New Chairman and Vice Chairman announced for Devon County Council

  1. Patrick Hughes says:

    and yet – according to the information available on your website – some election results are still to be declared!!! It appears that Seaton and Colyton “was” declared at 3.18 pm on 6 June = hang on – we haven’t got there yet!

    I have just spent an hour trying to find other results without success. Your website on this showing is a disgrace.

  2. Hi John

    Thanks for your email. The county council isn’t responsible for housing, so unfortunately we are unable to help in this regard.

    In Exmouth the housing authority is East Devon District Council and in Exeter its Exeter City Council

    Good luck

Posted in: DCC Homepage