New streamlined scrutiny system at County Hall

Posted on: 25 May 2017

A new streamlined system of scrutiny committees has been put in place by Devon County Council leader John Hart.

He is reducing the number of committees from four to three which will make the system more efficient and save money.

The three new committees will oversee children’s services, health and adult care and corporate, infrastructure and regulatory services.

The Children’s Scrutiny Committee will encompass schools and learning, social care, safeguarding and special needs services.

It will be chaired by Labour leader Rob Hannaford with Tiverton Conservative Polly Colthorpe as vice chairman.

The Health and Adult Care Committee will scrutinise social care, safeguarding and special needs services for adults alongside the operation of the NHS across Devon.

It will be chaired by Broadclyst Conservative councillor Sara Randall-Johnson with Crediton Liberal Democrat Nick Way as vice chairman.

The Corporate Scrutiny Committee will oversee policy and finance, community safety, the environment, economic activity, planning and transport, the youth service and post-16 education and skills.

It will be chaired by Ipplepen Liberal Democrat Alistair Dewhirst with Tavistock Conservative Debo Sellis as vice chairman.

Mr Hart said: “The new scrutiny committees mirror our new Cabinet responsibilities more closely. That means they can be more effective and efficient.

“And by reducing the number of committees by 25 per cent it saves council taxpayers’ money by reducing the amount of staff support and members’ allowances that have to be paid for.

“We’ve done a lot over the past eight years to save money but there are always new ways to cut costs as well as enabling councillors to keep a close eye on how well we deliver services.”

Posted in: