Nominations deadline extended for Community Transport Awards

Community transport passengersCommunity transport passengers

Posted on: 27 April 2017

The deadline for nominations for this year’s Community Transport Awards has been extended by Devon County Council.

The awards ceremony is open to anyone working or volunteering in the community transport sector and the County Council has announced that nominations must be submitted by Monday 8 May.

There are three categories of awards which honour the exceptional work of staff and volunteers in Devon’s Community Transport services:

– Volunteer Drivers – with three awards available for minibus drivers and another three for car drivers;

– Volunteer Community Transport Enabler – to recognise those working behind the scenes e.g. administrator, committee member, fundraiser; and

– Employee of the Year.

One of the individual volunteer award winners will also be named as the Community Transport Volunteer of year by a panel of judges.

Nominations can be made by passengers, staff, volunteers, community organisations, service providers and Town and Parish Councils.

Forms are available from the County Council here or by emailing or calling Devon County Council’s Community Transport Team on 01392 382123.

Successful nominees and their proposer will be invited to a civic reception in Exeter on Thursday 15 June. The ceremony is sponsored by local printers Pollards, with coachbuilders GM Coachwork Group sponsoring the prizes.

Completed forms should be emailed to:, or print and send them to: Community Transport, Devon County Council, M18 Matford Offices, County Hall, Exeter EX2 4QD.

Posted in: Community | Environment