Nominations sought for 18th anniversary of Community Transport Awards

Community Transport Award Winners 2016Community Transport Award Winners 2016

Posted on: 30 March 2017

Devon County Council is celebrating the 18th anniversary of its Community Transport Awards this year and the search is on for nominees for the 2017 awards.

The awards honour the exceptional service and dedication of staff and volunteers who deliver essential Community Transport services in Devon.

Nomination forms are now available from the County Council and must be submitted by the closing date of Tuesday 2 May.

Anyone working or volunteering in the community transport sector can be nominated by passengers, staff, volunteers, community organisations, service providers and Town and Parish Councils.

Awards are up for grabs in three categories:

– Volunteer Drivers – with three awards available for minibus drivers and another three for car drivers;

– Volunteer Community Transport Enabler – to recognise those working behind the scenes e.g. administrator, committee member, fundraiser; and

– Employee of the Year.

An additional award will be presented to one of the individual volunteer award winners considered by a panel of judges to have made an outstanding contribution to Community Transport in Devon over the past year.

This year’s award ceremony is sponsored by local printers Pollards, with coachbuilders GM Coachwork Group sponsoring the prizes for the awards.

Karen Rose, Community Transport Adviser for Devon County Council, said: “Each year we host these awards to say thank you to the hundreds of hard-working volunteers and staff running Community Transport schemes across Devon. By telling the stories of their commitment and dedication, we can help raise awareness of how important Community Transport is in delivering these essential services to people in Devon.”

Successful nominees and their proposer will be invited to a civic reception in Exeter on Thursday 15 June.

Nomination forms are available online here or by emailing or calling Devon County Council’s Community Transport Team on 01392 382123.

Completed forms should be emailed to:, or print and send them to: Community Transport, Devon County Council, M18 Matford Offices, County Hall, Exeter EX2 4QD.

Posted in: Community | DCC Homepage | Environment