Call for nominations for Community Transport Awards

Community Transport Award winners 2017 (Credit:

Posted on: 17 April 2018

The search for entries is underway for this year’s Devon County Council Community Transport Awards.

The annual award ceremony honours the exceptional service and dedication of staff and volunteers who deliver essential Community Transport services in Devon.

Nomination forms are available from the County Council and must be submitted by 5pm on Wednesday 16 May.

Passengers, staff, volunteers, community organisations, service providers and Town and Parish Councils can nominate anyone working or volunteering in the community transport sector for the awards.

There are three categories of awards:

– Volunteer Drivers – with three awards available for minibus drivers and another three for car drivers;

– Volunteer Community Transport Enabler – to recognise those working behind the scenes e.g. administrator, committee member, fundraiser; and

– Employee of the Year.

One of the individual volunteer award winners will also be presented with an additional award. The person considered to have made an outstanding contribution to Community Transport in Devon over the past 12 months, will be chosen by a panel of judges as Community Transport Volunteer of the Year.

Councillor Roger Croad

Councillor Roger Croad, Devon County Council Cabinet Member with responsibility for community transport, said: “Hundreds of people help with the running of community transport services across Devon, and we want to hear from as many people as possible about the incredible work and commitment that keeps these vital services operating across Devon. Our annual awards ceremony provides us with an opportunity to highlight a special few individuals for making a difference in their local community – and if you know of someone, then we’re keen to receive your nomination.”

This year’s award ceremony is sponsored by local printers Pollards.

Successful nominees and their proposer will be invited to a civic reception in Exeter on Thursday 14 June.

Completed forms should be emailed to:, or print and send them to: Community Transport, Devon County Council, M18 Matford Offices, County Hall, Exeter EX2 4QD.

Posted in: Community | Environment